The Sylvari

I returned to Lion’s Arch for some time. Leaving the Grove and the Forest behind not sure how long it would be till I manage to return there.

You never know what awaits you in the near future and I thought I might as well get back to duty and go were others are in need of help. Well it wasn’t long until I found myself again stepping through the Asura Portal in Lion’s Arch and once again surrounded by the warm humid air of the Grove only seconds later.

There are some places in this world you just feel drawn to. It’s a feeling one can’t really describe but if you don’t return to those places you stay restless for hours and days, not really able to do anything else than to think about the time you return there.

I’ve never really felt like this towards Divinity’s Reach. The city is my home, but I don’t mind wandering around in the rest of the world. And yet with the Grove I have found a place where I finally feel at ease, where I can rest and regain my strength and the confidence I need to walk on the path I chose.

This time I came back to learn, to learn something about this young race nobody really understands. They are curious fellows and whenever you step in their midst be prepared to answer a bunch of very unusual questions. They usually want to know about things you don’t even think about, others may find it annoying but I think it’s kind of refreshing.

The Pale Tree

The Pale Tree

The Sylvari themselves are born by the Pale Tree. The tree that you walk upon when you visit the grove, the same tree which leaves protect you from rain and give you and everyone else shelter. Before born to the real world in which we live, every Sylvari lives in the Dream. It’s a realm where they learn about this world, get some knowledge about the things other Sylvari see and eventually discover their Wyld Hunt. Not every Sylvari has one but usually it is an important task somehow concerning Tyria.

After they awaken they are teached in the Grove and some remain inside forever keeping their home save and guarding it. They live after Ventari’s teachings. A centaur who, together with a human lived here a decade ago. All in all there are seven of them and nearly every Sylvari follows them.

               I. Live life well and fully, and waste nothing.

               II. Do not fear difficulty. Hard ground makes stronger roots.

               III. The only lasting peace is the peace within your own soul.

               IV. All things have a right to grow. The blossom is brother to the weed.

               V. Never leave a wrong ripen into evil or sorrow.

               VI. Act with wisdom, but act.

               VII. From the smallest blade of grass to the largest mountain, where life goes-so, too, should you.

As I said, not every Sylvari obeyes those teachings. Some search for their own path in life and seperate themselves from the dream and the teachings. The Soundless meditate to silence the voices from the dream and the Nightmare Court thinks of the dream as a lie, they cut themselves off and try to destroy the Pale Tree.

I hope that never happens. The Sylvari may be a young race but I think we can learn a great deal from them.

One response to “The Sylvari

  1. That’s a beautiful picture of the Pale Tree!

    The Sylvari are a mysterious people, but they are very wise considering how young they are. It would do every race good to follow their teachings, and you never can forget time spent in their presence.

Leave a Reply

